Freak’ay Edamame

Posted: May 7, 2010 in Appetizers

Our favorite sushi restaurant serves it’s edamame “Freaky”!  After a few trials at home I came up with a version that is very close!!  This is a tasty/quick snack you can set out next time you have guests!

Ingredients

2 cups Edamame in pods

1tbsp Vegetable oil or sesame oil

2 cloves of Garlic, minced

Cayenne pepper to taste (be careful, this is spicy!!)

Sea Salt

This recipe works best if you use a cast iron skillet, although it’s not crucial.  If you do have a cast iron skillet, heat oil over medium high.  Add edamame (still in pods) and stir fry for 2 minutes.  Lower heat to medium & add minced garlic, cayenne pepper, & salt.  Stir constantly for another 2-3 minutes (be careful not to burn the garlic).  Serve warm!

Comments
  1. Julia Keller says:

    Thanks for this recipe! We were up at Northstar at Tahoe a few weeks ago, and ate at a sushi place there in the village – I think it was called Mikuni. Anyway, they served Freaky Edamame. My husband and I gobbled down a whole order – and I think I would have happily eaten another plate of it for dinner in place of my sushi! I have been trying to figure out how to make it. I will try your recipe!

Leave a Reply

